County Mission & Profile

Wilson County CourthouseOur Mission

To guide the future of this county, taking into account the strong work ethic of our ancestors, their ingenuity, their willingness to serve, and their valued efforts to constantly improve their quality of life and bring this into practice today as we concern ourselves with education, economic and community development and a life-style that endears the true qualities of life.

County Profile


Wilson County is located in the heart of Middle Tennessee. The largest city in the county is Mt. Juliet.


Wilson County was established by an act of the Third General Assembly of the State of Tennessee on October 26, 1799, three years after the organization of the state itself, and consists of 583.27 square miles.


The county was named in honor of Major David Wilson, a native of Pennsylvania, who came to Sumner County while it was yet a part of North Carolina. He was the first Speaker of the Territorial Assembly.


The 2020 Census by the U.S. Census Bureau gives Wilson County a total population of 147,373 broken down by the following:

  • Lebanon - 38,204
  • Mt. Juliet - 39,354
  • Watertown - 1,700

The remaining citizens live in the county, outside of city limits.


Wilson County Schools oversees 22 public schools, including 2 adult education centers and a technical education center. The county has five high schools:

  • Lebanon High School
  • Wilson Central High School
  • Watertown High School
  • Mount Juliet High School
  • Green Hill High School

Cumberland University is located in Lebanon.